Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why are perch numbers down on Simcoe?

Getting the hang of it

User Info Menu

Default Why are perch numbers down on Simcoe?

Ive fished Simcoe for 22 years and used to get lots of perch in typical places whether vast or focused, any season, even when I was a rookie. Ive noticed much less huts on the lake in the last 10 or 15 years as well. Is it the round goby, who's population density is heavy, that has been too much competition with perch (and other small fish) for food? The last nearly 10 years has been lots of dinks and only a few keepers and the rare jumbo or two. I went out of Gilford on March 6th and hardly got any, which I know can happen, but one hut close by got a few jumbos.

https://youtu.be/KY6DHKoPpKk

2. # ADS
    Advertisement
    ADVERTISEMENT

Leads by example

User Info Menu

If you compare today to the Simcoe of 30 years ago:
    Intro of zebra mussels - massive elimination of phytoplankton thereby also affecting zooplankton (primary productivity takes a hit)
    spiny water flea - big hit on remaining zooplankton population. Lake probably now devoid of some species. Further hit to primary productivity.
    Black Crappie invasion - direct interspecies competition, probably also predation. Massive biomass so comp would be substantial. Add another consumer species to a food web and your productivity goes down.
    Gobies - direct interspecies comp. Massive biomass so substantial.
    I've noticed that today's perch (compared to fishing it in the early 80s) are much smaller on average. You really see it when you fillet a bunch of 10 inch males. Hardly any meat yield now on the big females. Size at age and condition factor will definately be down if you compared growth data from the assessment unit's database. A spring trip to Atherley is a mere shadow of what it used to like 30 years ago.

Leads by example

User Info Menu