Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie looking for help

Just starting out

User Info Menu

Default Newbie looking for help

Hi,

This is my first year hunting but so far my buddy who got me into hunting has managed to find 101 reason why he can't go hunting just like in spring. I have gone out twice on my own but being a newbie and not owning a lot of camo clothes or other hunting equipment, I have not been very successful. I have read a lot and watch a number of video over the summer so I believe I have a good foundation.

I'm hoping someone from Ottawa West (I live in Kanata) would be willing be teach me a few things and take me out for either duck or geese hunting.

Thanks,
    Kris

2. # ADS
    Advertisement
    ADVERTISEMENT

Member for Life

User Info Menu

welcome to the site. But just a note you don't need camo to hunt. You don't need camo for small game or deer. Hunting takes patience. In fact I don't own any camo and I get geese and ducks, grouse, rabbits.

Just starting out

User Info Menu

Hi guys looking for a place to go duck hunting can anybody help me I am from Toronto i am new to a duck hunting

Loyal Member

User Info Menu

To the "newbies"...

I'd suggest you find a reliable friend that will take out and be willing to teach you a few things. Make sure you're equipped with your own shotgun, shells, a set of waders and lots of warm, dry clothes. Don't be afraid to pitch in some money for gas, coffee, beer or whatever else you can contribute in lieu of the lack of experience and equipment.

You'll find that strangers will be not as willing to take you out hunting as us waterfowlers are "protective" of our "spots". You may not have much luck finding people who are jumping at the chance to take a "newbie" out because it's essentially "babysitting" for the first little bit, but on the other hand, brining a new person hunting can develop into another great hunting partner.