Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ice gear DIY

Elite Member

User Info Menu

Default Ice gear DIY

I find that ice fishing lends itself to tinkering, so I thought it would be interesting to share our Basement Creations.

I'll start with a couple and will add more as I unpack and prep my gear for the season.

There was a thread about ff's through the ice and keeping non ice transducers straight; here's what I've been using for the past 15 years:

Hockey stick, window screen frame, a couple scraps of metal and some nuts and bolts. Lower hole is for thinner ice.

With arms closed.
    The part that sticks out of the hole makes it super easy to grab and pull out of the hole when you've got a big fish on.

When I started with my dad we would put everything in milk crates and into the toboggan, then when we got there we would flip the crates and use them as seats.
    At that point just about everything that was in the crates was being used, but as I expanded my ice gear I didn't like the fact that I had to dump everything out of the crates to sit down and the fact that they are far from water proof was also an issue.

I upgraded to a big tupperware tub and it was pretty good but after a while it would no longer hold my 230lbs. The sides would collapse inwards and then it would give, if I could stop it form folding in it would hold me no problem. Also being so big, keeping things organized was tough.
    I fixed both problems by making a snug fitting shelf:

Last edited by Rugger; January 16th, 2016 at 04:33 PM. Reason: Added to original
    Heeere fishy fishy fishy fishy! :fish:

2. # ADS
    Advertisement
    ADVERTISEMENT

Borderline Spammer

User Info Menu

COOL - I made almost exactly the same thing about 12 years ago. I used bolts and wing nuts and many holes for varying ice thickness'.

MC

Member for Life

User Info Menu

Why not just leave it at the deepest setting?

Elite Member

User Info Menu