Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is my cheapness affecting my harvest rate lol

Needs a new keyboard

User Info Menu

Default Is my cheapness affecting my harvest rate lol

I have been using the same primos turkey decoys for about 15 years now. B-mobile with a real fan and a hen x2 and jake. I have harvested around 25 or so birds. Last 3-4 seasons though I have had to work real hard for birds. (can't blame the decoys if the birds aren't around). But I have noticed over the last few years that the birds don't react to the decoys like they once did.

I also notice that it seems, based on watching youtube videos and tv shows that guys using these new modern expensive very realistic looking decoys are wacking birds pretty good.

I really have issues justifying spending 100 bucks on a turkey decoy, esp when I know that probably only half my birds have actually been shot using decoys. The youtube videos rarely show the failures with these decoys.

I'd like to know if bird always respond so well to these decoys are its still a big hit an miss?
    Things that fly turn me on

2. # ADS
    Advertisement
    ADVERTISEMENT

Apprentice

User Info Menu

Short answer is NO. I have harvested birds over the el' chepo decoys that were made with two pieces of foam sewn together and a shoelace for beard. I am still using my Bobbin' Head decoys that are getting on 9-10 years now and they work just fine.

I went out this AM and shot one with no decoy at all - it is so thick in there right now by the time he figures there is not hen around he is WELL within gun range. If you WANT new decoys by all means go and buy them but IMHO you do not NEED them.

Has too much time on their hands

User Info Menu

No, you don't need new decoys. Do I run nice new ones? Yeah, but that's for me, not the bird.