Page 1 of 11 12345678 ... LastLast

Thread: Ottawa Area Mentoring, Small Game, Deer and Ducks 2018

Has too much time on their hands

User Info Menu

Default Ottawa Area Mentoring, Small Game, Deer and Ducks 2018

For those in the Ottawa area and further out, I am willing to host new hunters for weekend hunting. I had no one to mentor me and I made a lot of mistakes and wasted many opportunities to take game. To that end, I go out every weekend (mostly-unless wife put foot down) until Dec for all game listed in subject line.

I hunt on crown (public) land and know many spots for hunting all game. I stay Fri-Sun so if you only have time for a morning hunt or an evening hunt, by all means join me. There is 22,000 acres of Public Land with legal hunting in Ottawa.

Thru trial and error and reading I have learned how to spot signs of animals, what to look for and how to move when hunting. As a former soldier, I am very safe and stress safety right off the bat.

I have all the gear needed for all types of hunting and can expose you to it and how I do hunts. I am by no means an "expert" but have learned valuable lessons to pass on.

Ducks/Geese
    Deer
    Rabbits/grouse/Crow/other small game
    Coyote
    Wild Edibles mushrooms/herbs/berries

Since I am in location and camp all weekend, I have all that is needed to camp out at night, cook, clean, process game. IF you are to stay over at night, I have two tents to use and you would be welcome to share and use my camping gear. Not having this gear, should not take from your experience of wanting to try.

You would need to have your own guns, ammo, licenses, food and water if staying. However, if you have all licenses, but don’t have a gun I will lend you one. Pay me for the ammo and clean gun once used is my price.

All the lands and locations I hunt are accessible by car. I am not a business nor do I charge anything for this help, just someone who wants to give back. The coffee is always on and I welcome anyone.