Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What’s an ethical distance between stands when hunting Crown land?

Just starting out

User Info Menu

Default What’s an ethical distance between stands when hunting Crown land?

Hi, all
    We received this question from an OOD reader and thought the forum is the best place to hear your thoughts.
    Thanks,
    OOD

"I live in northwestern Ontario and I have been baiting a particular spot for approximately 3 years for whitetails. I archery hunt in this area. Today when checking my baits in noticed footprints. I followed and located another stand and bait pile. The new stand which I initially thought was 75 yards from mine turned out to be 250-300 yards according to Google Maps. I contacted several people in the community finally locating the person. After speaking to him, he advised me he just set his stand up in September of 2019. I told him I have had mine there for 3 seasons. I shared the locations VIA screenshots and the deer that we each had on camera (Same ones) SHOCKER! He advised me he was on his way there to hunt and said if you see a truck parked there you know I’m hunting. I know it’s perfectly legal to do so, I’m just curious what the outdoors community thinks of this situation?"
    Last edited by OOD Edit; November 8th, 2019 at 01:05 PM.

2. # ADS
    Advertisement
    ADVERTISEMENT

Member for Life

User Info Menu

The number of times I have dealt with people who "hunted this land for generations", there is no right to any property. Be respectful but both have to play together or nobody will be able to use that land in the future.

Leads by example

User Info Menu

I agree with Fox. 250 to 300yds is a fair distance when bow hunting. My son and I hunt about the same distance apart or less and there is no issues. I'd suggest getting to know him better and then you can both hunt it without fighting about it, as it is crown land. If both are respectful of each other and don't mess the other up, I see no issues.